NB: Saved from an email with Jeff.

Alexander wrote:

I’ve been using these 3 schemas when I approach awakening people:

1 Using the chart of the 4 stages of enlightenment 

Pretty clear as you just use the fetters, then use intuition to assess their level. I’ve been sending them the chart itself and asking them to contemplate it.

2 The mystic stages of awakening, purgation, illumination, the dark night of the soul, and enlightenment 

A good general map of the spiritual life.

3 The idea of two “death and resurrections”

The first occurring between streamwinner and once-returner. The second occurring between nonreturner and arahant. Encouraging people to go through these.